UALC
Monday, November 18, 2019
How Can I Serve?

Volunteer Opportunities

UALC offers projects for small groups and individuals
 

MISSION PARTNERS

Coats for Kids Drive 
Supports SON Ministries for their annual winter wear coat drive by joining us in collecting monetary donations. $50 buys at least three coats. Online giving is available at ualc.org/giving (under “Fund” choose “coats for kids”). Hats, scarves, and gloves will be collected through Nov. 3. If you would like to volunteer at the Winter Wear Store in December, check out the sign-ups, starting early November, at son-ministries.org/volunteer. Contact Kathleen Turvy, kturvy@son-ministries.org.
 
Serving Our Neighbors (SON) Ministries English as a Second Language (ESL) Kids’ Club
A full family educational program where international adults learn English. Volunteers needed for children 3-months through middle school age. Training provided. Flexible schedule. Tuesdays and Thursdays, 6:00-8:30 pm at Mill Run. Contact Trish Barnett, tbarnett@son-ministries.org.
 
SON Ministries ESL with UALC— Classroom Assistant 
Help internationals learn English in one of six fluency levels. Build relationships with people from over 30 nations. Training provided. Tuesdays and Thursdays, 6:00-8:30 pm at Mill Run. Contact Dave Mann, dmann@ualc.org
 
Family ESL—Conversation Partner 
Meet regularly with an international, at a time and place of your choosing, to practice conversational English. Contact Dave Mann, dmann@ualc.org
 
Family ESL Hospitality 
Help prepare and serve snacks to international participants (children and adults). Tuesdays and Thursdays, 6:00-8:30 pm at Mill Run. Contact Dave Mann, dmann@ualc.org
 
SON Ministries Snack Angels 
Meals needed for children while international adults learn English. An easy way for individuals, family, or a small group to serve. Tuesdays and Thursdays, 6:00-8:30 pm at Mill Run. Contact Trish Barnett, tbarnett@son-ministries.org. 
 
God’s Hygiene Help Center 
Providing hygiene, dignity, and hope to those in need with the compassion of Jesus. Drop hygiene product donations in the Ministry Exchange Centers. Contact godshygiene@gmail.com.
 
IFI English Conversation Partner
Meet one-on-one with international students to practice English, build relationships, and point to Jesus. IFI training required. Find more information and register online at ualc.org/ifi. Contact Jerry Cable, jerry66.cable@gmail.com.
 
IFI Thanksgiving Meal Hosting
Invite international students to share a Thanksgiving meal with your family. Training required. Thursday, November 28, off-site. Find more information and register online at ualc.org/ifi. Contact Jerry Cable, jerry66.cable@gmail.com. 
 
IFI Friday Night Bible Study Set-Up
Set up tables and chairs for the Friday night IFI Bible study at Lytham Road. No training required. Weekly, Fridays before 6:00 pm at Lytham Road. Find more information and register online at ualc.org/ifi. Contact Jerry Cable, jerry66.cable@gmail.com.
 

MISSION TRIPS 

Honduras Mission Trip 
Construction, hygiene clinic, and possibly VBS. No Spanish necessary, just a servant heart. Must be at least 13, in 8th grade. February 15-22, 2020, Honduras. Approx. cost is $1150. Find more information at ualc.org/missiontrips. Contact Jen Geistfeld, jengeistfeld@gmail.com.
 
Lutheran Church of South Sudan Medical Mission Trip 
Medical Team going to Gambella, Ethiopia, for South Sudanese refugees. The team needs doctors and nurse practitioners. January 20-25, 2020, Ethiopia. Find more information at ualc.org/missiontrips. Contact Mark Locher, marklocher@columbus.rr.com or Donna Locher, djlocher56@gmail.com. 
 

COMMUNITY MISSION PARTNERS 

Lutheran Social Services Food Pantry 
Serving the hungry by distributing grocery items. Serve in the pantry on Champion Ave. Also donate non-perishable food and Christian materials (Bibles, coloring books) in the bins at Lytham Road and Mill Run. Wednesday, November 13, 12:30-3:30 pm, 1430 Champion Ave. Contact Chris Burger, chrisbu@columbus.rr.com.
 
Kairos Prison Ministry 
Sharing the love of Christ with incarcerated individuals through word and home-baked cookies during weekend retreats and monthly reunions. Contact Phil Heveron, pheveron55@gmail.com or Dan Hill, dhill292@columbus.rr.com.
 
Bed Brigade 
Help build and deliver simple beds for families in need. Deliveries made on Saturdays. Saturdays, 10:30 am-Noon at Mill Run & off-site. Contact and RSVP to Dale Cory, bedbrigade@ualc.org
 

SEASON FOR GIVING 

It’s not too early to be thinking about those in our community who will be in need this holiday season. We thank you for your generous support in previous years and look forward to your continued support. Visit ualc.org/seasonforgiving for details of these ministries and collections: 
• Winter Wear Drive 
• H.A.R.P. Toy Drive for SE Ohio 
• SON Ministries Good Tidings Christmas Store 
• Operation Christmas Child
• Thanksgiving LSS Food Drive 
• Angel Tree 
 

MISSIONAL LIVING 

We all have daily opportunities to notice God at work and join in. Where can God use you to bless the world where you live, work, and play? 
 
AT UALC 
 
Kids’ Church, Children, Middle School, High School Ministry Teams 
Serve directly with children and young people or behind the scenes. All kinds of roles available with these impactful ministry teams. 
Contact Kids’ Church—Elizabeth Lake, elake@ualc.org; Children’s—Andrea Taphorn, ataphorn@ualc.org; Middle School—Kelsey Bacon, kbacon@ualc.org; High School—Jon Zawodny, jzawodny@ualc.org.
 
MOPS (Mothers of Preschoolers) Childcare Volunteers
UALC Mothers of Preschoolers needs volunteers to help during MOPS meetings. First and third Tuesdays, 8:45-11:15 am at Lytham Road. No special experience needed: if you can rock a baby, hug a child or read a Bible story, we need you. If interested, contact Angela Culver, mops@ualc.org.
 
Clothes Closet 
Provide gently used warm clothes, coats, shoes/boots, for all of God’s people. Drop off in bins at Lytham Road and Mill Run. Contact Cathy Shaw, ceshaws59@gmail.com.
 
In-Town Mission: Christmas Stockings for SE Ohio 
Fill Christmas stockings and pray for needy children who will receive them in cooperation with HARP (Helping Appalachian Rural People). Please RSVP. Wednesday, November 12, 10:00 am-Noon at Lytham Road. RSVP to and contact Jeff Morlock, adults@ualc.org.
 
Christmas for Internationals 
Explore with international students/immigrants what is the true meaning of Christmas. Bring a dish of finger food to share. Friday, December 6, time TBD at Mill Run. Contact Dave Mann, dmann@ualc.org.
 
Highland Pen Pal Program 
Looking for pen pals to write to Highland Elementary fifth grade students once a month. Contact Mim Braaten, mimbraaten@gmail.com.  
 
Blood Drive
Giving blood is a simple thing to do, but it can make a big difference in the lives of others. November 16, 8:00 am-12:45 pm at Lytham Road. Find more information and register online at ualc.org/care. Contact Paul Schmitt, blooddrive@ualc.org.
 
ON SUNDAYS 
 
Serve in a Worship Community 
There are many ways to lend a hand on Sunday mornings: usher, serve communion, lector, bake communion bread, run sound or slides, pray, and many more. Contact a Campus Pastor to find out more information. 
Lytham Road Contact: Joe Valentino, jvalentino@ualc.org
Mill Run Contact: Brodie Taphorn, btaphorn@ualc.org 
 
Ministry Time Prayer Volunteers 
For those interested in being on the prayer team on Sunday mornings during worship. Training provided. Contact Buff Delcamp, bdelcamp@ualc.org.
 
Handbell Choir 
Handbell Choir is for those who can read music and want to glorify Christ through beautiful music. Wednesdays, 6:00 pm at Mill Run. Contact Dan Hill, Dhill29@columbus.rr.com.
 
Lytham Road Sanctuary Choir 
Join the choir to sing hymns and anthems by traditional and contemporary composers at the Traditional service. No audition required. Rehearsals weekly, Wednesdays, 7:30 pm at Lytham Road. Services weekly, Sundays, 9:00 am at Lytham Road. Find more information at ualc.org/music. Contact Brian Carlton, tnbcarlton@yahoo.com.
 
Mill Run Intergenerational Choir 
Come be part of Mill Run worship leadership in a group that offers both occasional praise song leadership and special anthem music. No audition necessary. Wednesdays, 7:30 pm at Mill Run. Contact Katie Borden, kborden@ualc.org
 
Mill Run Music Ministry Auditions 
Connect with the music ministry team leaders to determine where to best offer your musical gifts. Sign up for an audition time with Katie Borden, kborden@ualc.org.
 

AWANA Volunteers

Volunteers are needed for our AWANA Clubs working with kids age 3 to grade 6. Many roles for adults and teens. Wednesdays 6:30-7:45 pm at Mill Run. Find more information at ualc.org/awana. Contact Kristen Henry, awana@ualc.org.
 

Care Ministers 

Visit those hospitalized, homebound, or in care facilities, and connect with people in various life experiences. Training provided. Contact Becki Bork, bbork@ualc.org
 
 
How Can I Serve?

Volunteer Your Skills

Whatever your area of interest or experience from Care to Missions, Children to Sunday mornings, there's a place to serve. Find the details and contacts here.

 

Invest in Someone's Life

Serve God by Serving Others

Live out your faith by investing your time and talents in someone's life.
Find one-time activities and ongoing projects.

 

Fill Up Your Cart.

The Food Pantry Needs Our Help

UALC has been a strong and faithful supporter of Lutheran Social Services Food Pantries for years. You can help by bringing non-perishable groceries to our lobbies any time you come to church.

 

Family, Youth & Children

Family, Youth & Children

We partner with parents to nurture each child's spiritual growth. Check out some opportunities.